So do you think you’re better than me?

The response from my previous post has been incredibly positive. So I assume most people have engaged both their hearts and minds when reading it, and let it digest somewhat, really soaking in the message. Which is of course; not to overlook our health and well-being. It HAS to be a priority and if it isn’t already then you must make changes.

Some people only need to make small changes, a few simple nutrition lessons, and an extra game of five a side every week. Some people need to shake things up a little more dramatically, alter their diet considerably, and think outside the box. That is, learn that not all foods come in a box, that needs to be placed inside the bigger box that goes PING after 1-3 minutes, which then becomes the signal to go and sit in front of the 42″ widescreen box in the living room, and not move for the night. Others need what I call the “Alex Murphy” approach, a full on Robocop rebuild as they have ruined their body and health pretty much completely, through a “Dead or Alive I’m eating for 3” attitude. GP’s, community support workers. nutritionists, personal trainers etc all have to work together to get this persons life back on track. The human body has an unbelievable ability to heal and regenerate irrespective of age, when it stops being poisoned and is shown a little TLC. It’s NEVER too late to make improvements, and get your life back.

However, there have been one or two comments that were not so positive, in the form of massive denial raising its ugly head. I managed to deal with them like I always have, treating them as objections which are simply requests for more information. People generally come around to a healthy way of thinking. Anyone with any sales training should have had a nice cringe at that one 🙂

My favourite one is always: “Just because you eat right and exercise, doesn’t make you any better than me!!”  My responses depend on which mood you catch me in *My moods are always incredibly stable because of the fantastic nutrition don’t forget ;)* But let’s look at it objectively for a second shall we?

The dictionary definition of better can be found as the following:

More desirable, satisfactory, or effective.

Is having a lean healthy body more desirable? I’m going to stick my neck out and say yes to this one. The fact that millions and millions of pounds are spent year in year out in the fitness industry on gym memberships, personal trainers, fad diets, supplements, miracle pills, fasting retreats etc indicates that getting the six-pack abs or fitting into the little black dress is high on a lot of people’s to do lists. Not to mentioned that we are programmed to seek a mate who has the physical traits we subconsciously desire which all stem from being healthy and able to reproduce strong, healthy offspring. So in that respect, I AM BETTER THAN YOU!

Is having a lean, healthy body more satisfactory? Massive yes to this one too I’m afraid. If you had a car that was slow, burning oil, flat tyres, always breaking down and costing you a ton of money in repairs then I doubt you would be very satisfied. People put on weight, become diabetic, develop knee, hip, and spine issues from carrying too much weight and spend a lot of time in the GP surgery, and a lot of money on prescription drugs.This too, compared to having none of the above issues must not be satisfactory. So in that respect, I AM BETTER THAN YOU!

It’s looking like a hat-trick is on the cards here….

Is having a lean healthy body more effective? YES! In pretty much every way imaginable. Having energy when you get home from work to spend quality time communicating with your partner and playing with your kids contributes to being a more effective partner and parent. Not being out of work with trips to the doctor, hospital and general sick days make you a more effective employee. Being able to compete at 100% fitness week in week out in the sport you play makes you a more effective athlete. Taking care of your health consistently over the long-term makes you a more effective HUMAN full stop!  So once again, I AM BETTER THAN YOU!

I stopped dancing around blobbing my tongue out saying ” ner ner na ner ner” at this point around 12 months ago. They don’t like it when I do that….:)

The jury isn’t out on this one. It’s not up for debate. You are a better version of yourself, when you are strong, lean, and without disease and ailment. You are a stronger version of yourself, equipped better physically and mentally to deal with the bullshit that gets thrown at you day in day out in life. Who wouldn’t want to be that version of themselves? I don’t want to get Tony Robbins on you, that’s a whole different post. But the sooner you embrace it the better. For you and everyone who cares about you.

The next few posts will shed some light on where to begin, so you don’t burn out, get fed up and end up in the local kebab shop thoroughly unmotivated, mumbling “It’s okay I’ve just done 10 minutes power walking I’ve earned this!!”
Right, I’m off to do my best Lance Armstrong impression and smash the pedals for an hour.

Peace out.

Swanny.

Leave a comment